“But Daddy, how do our brains SHRINK?”

ImageWe were trying to explain why our 6 year old couldn’t play video games and watch TV or movies all day this past week. I explained I thought using a metaphor of eating a balanced diet of candy just wouldn’t be good for our bodies, and digitized media is like candy to our brains. I inadvertently stated in this explanation that too much media makes our brains shrink. I noticed a grimace on my wife’s face like, “Is that really true, honey?” But all seemed understood at the time and everyone was dismissed.

Later that day he was standing at the foot of my bed with a question, “But daddy, how can our brains SHRINK?” I really felt caught. Was I thinking I was really being honest or using a metaphor or what? So I expained that it wasn’t
really like our brains were shrinking in mass, but in ability–we just can’t think as clear when we spend too much time focusing on digitized media. But then something happened to make me a little bit satisfied but also a tad bit horrified.

I picked up a book I was to be reading for a class by Marva Dawn called, Reaching Out Without Dumbing Down. In the very first pages of the very first section she cites research done (and no kidding) that states “children who watch a lot of television actually have smaller brains”– WOW! WHOA.

About thekessler6

WE ARE A FAMILY OF SIX --SINCE 2009. ALTHOUGH OUR KIDS ARE ALL HOOSIER-BORN (all IN THE SAME HOSPITAL BY THE SAME WONDERFUL DOCTOR TOO!); Melissa and I ARE NATIVE BUCKEYES (A SWEET AND DELICIOUS TREAT!). WE COUNT OURSELVES MISSIONARIES TO THE HOOSIER NATIVES. AS FUNNY AS THAT SOUNDS WE HAVE YET TO MAKE ANY CONVERTS . . . TOO MANY PEOPLE SEEM TO BE FROM KENTUCKY AND MICHIGAN! KENT HAS BEEN A SPIRITUAL LEADER since 1987 AND MELISSA IS AN ELEMENTARY MUSIC TEACHER. THEY MET AND FELL IN LOVE IN GREENWOOD, INDIANA AND BEGAN MINISTRY TOGETHER IN MARION in 1996. FUNNY THING: MELISSA LIVES JUST ON THE OTHER SIDE OF MARION, OHIO!
This entry was posted in theKessler6 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

