“IT’S MY LAST CHANCE” –ajk

Last Sunday we had a baptismal service for my eleven year old daughter Allie which we planned and for my seven year old Andrew whom we did not plan. In fact I told Andrew a few weeks ago he was not going to be baptized. Why did I change my mind?

Well first, why I said no. Josh was 11 when he was baptized. Allie is now too. Allie is being baptized and I didn’t want Andrew to be doing it just because big sister was and I didn’t want his to overshadow her ‘big day’. We pray a lot for our children and I didn’t believe Andrew has not had any spiritual experiences specifically in claiming the name of Christ for his own or sharing with me and Melissa his account of Jesus. Lastly, Melissa and I were both young when we were baptised and wished we would have waited when we were older so it would have been a more significant and more memorable part in our faith journey. I also believed that a few more years wouldn’t hurt for Andrew to wait.

It was a great time at the pond with 17 being baptized. Allie’s grandpa and gramma came from Ohio and Grandpa Don had the opportunity to baptize her himself which he did. After all of the baptisms were over Pastor Tim asked one last time if there were any in the crowd who came originally to not be baptized but felt drawn by God to be. Andrew spun around and with a great look in his eyes came towards his mother and I and said, “It’s my last chance.” If this experience was on him so much in this way I could not deny him this chapter’s page in his spiritual journey.

I sent Andrew over to his grandpa Don to ask him if he would baptize him. When he ran over to Grandpa, God placed the right words in grandpa’s mouth. Andrew asked and grandpa said to him, “Oh! You want me to baptize you? So have you asked Jesus into your heart?” And after Andrew shook his head yes he walked over to the pond holding Andrew’s hand and said, “We have one more!” Don was so moved to have had the opportunity to baptize two of his grand-children. I was blessed to see the godly heritage being passed on. And I took several mental snapshots of a seven year old boy who got his chance to be baptized today.

About thekessler6

WE ARE A FAMILY OF SIX --SINCE 2009. ALTHOUGH OUR KIDS ARE ALL HOOSIER-BORN (all IN THE SAME HOSPITAL BY THE SAME WONDERFUL DOCTOR TOO!); Melissa and I ARE NATIVE BUCKEYES (A SWEET AND DELICIOUS TREAT!). WE COUNT OURSELVES MISSIONARIES TO THE HOOSIER NATIVES. AS FUNNY AS THAT SOUNDS WE HAVE YET TO MAKE ANY CONVERTS . . . TOO MANY PEOPLE SEEM TO BE FROM KENTUCKY AND MICHIGAN! KENT HAS BEEN A SPIRITUAL LEADER since 1987 AND MELISSA IS AN ELEMENTARY MUSIC TEACHER. THEY MET AND FELL IN LOVE IN GREENWOOD, INDIANA AND BEGAN MINISTRY TOGETHER IN MARION in 1996. FUNNY THING: MELISSA LIVES JUST ON THE OTHER SIDE OF MARION, OHIO!
This entry was posted in theKessler6 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

