My kids love to dress up, but I didn’t know it was God’s idea!

crownMy daughter would invite friends over asking them to play “dress up” and she got several friends who wondered what this was at first excited about it. Do you know what this is? It is merely some fun wearing different types of clothes. We have picked up our share over the years. For the boys there are the typical superheros and add in police, fireman, and patriot outifits and props. For the girls there were mostly princess dresses. Then they would, with imaginations in full force, live in their make-believe world for an hour or so. We love to think this is a good outlet for their imaginations. Why? I think the Bible encourages this in helathy doses and with a proper godly perspective. Ever heard of the phrase ‘sanctified imagination’? It is somewhere between prayerfull mediation and a vision.

I don’t know how many times I have read Exodus 3 but I a phrase jumped out at me today and took me in my imagination to a godly place in Scriptural history. God is speaking to Moses on Mount Horeb from within the burning bush telling him all of the things He wants to do for His people. He gives Moses a vision of children which I hadn’t seen before but could see so vividly. I knew about the people asking the Egyptians for gold and silve, I knew they would plunder the city on their way out when God delivered them after that Passover evening, I believed I knew it was for the untensils that would be made to worship God. What I never saw before was this phrase in verse 22, “Every woman is to ask her neighbor and any woman living in her house for articles of silver and gold and for clothing, which you will put on your sons and daughters. And so you will plunder the Egyptians.” WOW! I am thinking dress up in a whole new way!

What a significance this is to our spiritual life! We are the sons and daughters of God delivered out of the oppresion and bondage of sin, walking out of that slavery WEARING the spoils of our former life as God leads us out! Those spoils, once consecrated in our new way of life will be sanctified by God and used in a new way as acts of worship. God doesn’t waste but redeems. I don’t believe any of the movies portraying the Exodus highlighted this part of the story. But I can imagine seeing those children walking out of Egypt “dressed up” like royalty–and oh what a sight that would be to the other nations!

I know my children would have enjoyed that day! It would have been a dress up day to remember. But with God’s help, we can still see ourselves in our imaginations as His children dressed in royalty in this world with all of the riches of Christ laid upon us. Take some time today to thank God for those riches HE has given you–spoiled from the old land, remade in the new, for His glory.

About thekessler6

WE ARE A FAMILY OF SIX --SINCE 2009. ALTHOUGH OUR KIDS ARE ALL HOOSIER-BORN (all IN THE SAME HOSPITAL BY THE SAME WONDERFUL DOCTOR TOO!); Melissa and I ARE NATIVE BUCKEYES (A SWEET AND DELICIOUS TREAT!). WE COUNT OURSELVES MISSIONARIES TO THE HOOSIER NATIVES. AS FUNNY AS THAT SOUNDS WE HAVE YET TO MAKE ANY CONVERTS . . . TOO MANY PEOPLE SEEM TO BE FROM KENTUCKY AND MICHIGAN! KENT HAS BEEN A SPIRITUAL LEADER since 1987 AND MELISSA IS AN ELEMENTARY MUSIC TEACHER. THEY MET AND FELL IN LOVE IN GREENWOOD, INDIANA AND BEGAN MINISTRY TOGETHER IN MARION in 1996. FUNNY THING: MELISSA LIVES JUST ON THE OTHER SIDE OF MARION, OHIO!
This entry was posted in theKessler6. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

